Sadler Voted NXS Most Popular Driver for a Third Time

Shayna Navarro | JR Motorsports | 11/28/2017

Elliott Sadler News

Fans elected Elliott Sadler as the 2017 NASCAR Xfinity Series Most Popular Driver.

Charlotte, N.C. (Nov. 28, 2017) – Elliott Sadler’s second season as driver of JR Motorsports’ No. 1 Chevrolet Camaro brought him a NASCAR Xfinity Series regular-season championship title along with a runner-up finish in the NXS Playoffs. Based on that strong season performance, fans elected the Virginia native as the 2017 NASCAR Xfinity Series Most Popular Driver.

Sadler will accept the award next Saturday night, Dec. 9, during the NASCAR Xfinity Series Awards Banquet at the Charlotte Convention Center. The honor is Sadler’s second consecutive and gives JR Motorsports drivers a streak of six straight MPD awards.

“It’s unreal to be voted the NXS Most Popular Driver for a second year in a row,” Sadler said. “To win this award given by the fans is truly an honor. I’m so grateful for each and every fan who took time out of their day to vote—it’s humbling. I can’t thank NASCAR and my fans enough for honoring me with this award once again. This is incredible. I want to thank everyone who voted, my wife Amanda and our kids, and all of our sport’s loyal fan base.”

Sadler, who earned 12 top-five and 25 top-10 finishes this season, will bring home his third MPD award determined by fan voting. Sadler’s achievement gives JRM eight of the last 10 awards. Danica Patrick kicked it off in 2012, Regan Smith won the award in 2013 and Chase Elliott won in both 2014 and 2015 prior to Sadler’s first award with JR Motorsports last season.

The veteran driver is among the short list of JRM drivers to have earned the MPD award in two consecutive seasons. Sadler joins Brad Keselowski, who won the honor in 2008 and 2009, and Elliott as the only JRM drivers to have been selected as the award winner in back-to-back seasons.



XFINITY Series Schedule

  • July 28 05:00 PM ET
    U.S. Cellular 250Iowa Speedway
  • August 4 03:30 PM ET
    Zippo 200Watkins Glen International
  • August 11 03:00 PM ET
    Mid-Ohio ChallengeMid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • August 17 07:30 PM ET
    Food City 300Bristol Motor Speedway
  • August 25 03:00 PM ET
    Road America 180Road America

XFINITY Series Standings

After Lakes Region 200

New Hampshire Motor Speedway | 7/21/2018
1Daniel Hemric6500
2Christopher Bell #644-6
3Elliott Sadler643-7
4Cole Custer637-13
5Justin Allgaier602-48
6Tyler Reddick #553-97
7Brandon Jones543-107
14Michael Annett343-307