2018 Memorable Moments Countdown No. 2: Allgaier’s Summer Blitz Earns Regular-Season Title

Ron Lemasters | 12/20/2018

2018 Brandt Justin Allgaier Memorable Moments News XFINITY Series

Five wins vaulted Justin Allgaier to the Xfinity Series regular season title and to the number two spot in our memorable moments countdown for 2018.

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (Dec. 20, 2018) – Winning championships is just something JR Motorsports does very well. Three NASCAR Xfinity Series titles, a couple of CARS Late Model crowns...and two consecutive regular-season championships in the past four seasons are proof of that.

Following Elliott Sadler’s initial capture of the inaugural regular-season championship in NXS competition in 2017, Justin Allgaier made it two straight for JRM in 2018. The award comes with a nice trophy, but the real prize is the bonus points that help the winner advance in the NXS Playoffs.

The actual clinching of the regular-season championship came at Las Vegas in September, when Allgaier finished a strong second to Ross Chastain in the regular-season finale. Allgaier’s journey toward the title began somewhat earlier...14 races earlier, to be exact.

At Michigan in June, Allgaier finished ninth to begin a 13-race stretch in which he won four times and finished no lower than ninth. The runner-up result at Las Vegas was the ninth top-five finish for the 32-year-old Illinois native in that span and the eighth in the top three. That is the stuff of which regular-season championships are made.

From the second Iowa Speedway race to Vegas, Allgaier posted finishes of second, third, first (Mid-Ohio), third, first (Road America), seventh, first (Indianapolis) and second. That erased a 102-point deficit in the points, as Allgaier advanced from sixth in the standings to first following his victory at Road America, the fifth and final victory of his 2018 season.

The five victories also made an impact in another way.

Prior to 2018, Allgaier had won five NXS races in his career, with single triumphs in 2010 (Bristol), 2011 (Chicagoland) and 2012 (Montreal). In his second season with JRM, in 2017, Allgaier won at Phoenix in the spring and Chicagoland in the fall.

He doubled that total in 2018, starting with a thrilling victory in the first Dover race that saw him and Sadler bouncing off each other off Turn 4 coming to the checkered in a 1-2 JRM finish. He dominated in the first Iowa race, leading 182 of the 250 laps, and outdrove Austin Cindric to earn his second career victory on a road course at Mid-Ohio. A couple of weeks later, Allgaier and crew chief Jason Burdett rolled the dice strategy-wise and came up with a thrilling victory at Road America, avenging a tough loss there earlier in Allgaier’s career in which he ran out of gas while leading the final lap under caution in 2011.

Then came the annual trip to Indianapolis. Allgaier, who grew up as an open-wheel driver, had dreamed of racing one day in the Indy 500. His father, Mike, used to take young Justin from their home in Illinois to Indianapolis every week for media training classes at IMS, and a tearful Allgaier recalled those hours-long trips in Victory Lane.

Unfortunately, regular-season championships do not always translate into series titles, as Allgaier was eliminated from Playoff contention in the penultimate race of the season at Phoenix.

A regular-season championship is something not many drivers have accomplished, and Allgaier has done everything in his career at JRM except win the series championship. He and sponsor BRANDT Professional Agriculture will have another shot at it in 2019 at JR Motorsports.



XFINITY Series Schedule

  • June 16 05:30 PM ET
    CircuitCity.com 250Iowa Speedway
  • June 29 03:30 PM ET
    Camping World 300Chicagoland Speedway
  • July 5 07:30 PM ET
    Firecracker 250Daytona International Speedway
  • July 12 07:30 PM ET
    Alsco 300 at KentuckyKentucky Speedway
  • July 20 04:00 PM ET
    Lakes Region 200New Hampshire Motor Speedway

XFINITY Series Standings

After LTi Printing 250

Michigan International Speedway | 6/8/2019
1Tyler Reddick6270
2Christopher Bell538-89
3Cole Custer510-117
4Austin Cindric486-141
5Justin Allgaier479-148
6Chase Briscoe #440-187
7John Hunter Nemechek429-198
8Noah Gragson #423-204
9Michael Annett406-221