Allgaier Keeps NXS Most Popular Driver Award at JRM for 2020

Ron Lemasters | 11/18/2020

Brandt Justin Allgaier Most Popular Driver News XFINITY Series

Justin Allgaier won the NXS Most Popular Driver Award for the second straight year, keeping the annual prize at JRM for the ninth straight season.

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (Nov. 18, 2020) – Justin Allgaier won the NASCAR Xfinity Series Most Popular Driver Award for the second straight year, keeping the annual prize at JR Motorsports for the ninth straight season. For JRM, it is the 11th Most Popular Driver award in the past 13 seasons. Allgaier was named the winner of the fan vote during tonight’s broadcast of the 2020 NASCAR Awards Show.

Allgaier is the fourth JRM driver to win the award more than once, joining Brad Keselowski (2008-09), Chase Elliott (2014-15) and Elliott Sadler (2016-18). Sadler is the only driver to have won three straight MPD awards for the same team and has won the most overall with four. Danica Patrick (2012) and Regan Smith (2013) are the other drivers to have earned the award for JRM.

“To say that I’m humbled is an understatement,” Allgaier said upon hearing the news. “To be the most popular driver now two years in a row, I just can’t even begin to describe the feeling that it gives me. It’s something that I will cherish and it goes at the top of the list. Over all the race wins and over all the successes, these awards are what truly mean the most because it’s about people voting for a driver for who they are and what they’re about as a person versus what happens on the track and that makes this so special.”

 Allgaier, 34, completed his fifth season with JRM in the Championship 4 at Phoenix Raceway earlier this month, finishing a career-high second in the final standings. The Illinois native has made the Championship 4 in four of his five seasons with the team and is the organization’s leader in NXS victories with 11.

Allgaier earned three victories, 11 top-five and 19 top-10 finishes in 2020, leading 1,008 laps to smash his previous best total (741) in the category.

“JR Nation has obviously been a huge supporter of all of our drivers, especially during this time,” added Allgaier. “I love our fans and I can’t wait to get them back at the race track with us on a regular basis and get to hang out more often. Thank you, thank you, from the bottom of my heart and from the bottom of my family’s heart. We appreciate this award. As I said, this will be a cherished moment for the rest of my life.”

Keselowski began JRM’s streak by winning back-to-back MPD awards in 2008-09. Danica Patrick won it in 2012, Regan Smith followed in 2013 and Chase Elliott swept the award in 2014-15 before Elliott Sadler won it three straight seasons from 2016-18. Allgaier took home the honors for the first time in 2019.





XFINITY Series Schedule

XFINITY Series Standings

After Desert Diamond West Valley Casino 200*

Phoenix Raceway | 11/7/2020
1Austin Cindric (P)40400
2Justin Allgaier (P)4032-8
3Justin Haley (P)4029-11
4Chase Briscoe (P)4028-12
5Noah Gragson2306-1734
6Brandon Jones2273-1767
7Ross Chastain2270-1770
8Harrison Burton #2248-1792
9Michael Annett2202-1838