Dohar 3rd, Keffer 14th at The Glen in eNASCAR Heat Pro League Shootout

JR Motorsports | 6/27/2019

eNASCAR FilterTime Jason Keffer NASCAR Heat News The Dale Jr. Foundation Tyler Dohar Watkins Glen Win Dale Jr.’s Ride

The JRM NASCAR Heat squad had an up and down night Wednesday in the fourth race of the season at the virtual Watkins Glen International.

Track Specs: 2.45-mile oval / 25 laps (PS4), 25 laps (XBOX)

Dohar’s start/finish (XBOX): 9th/3rd   

Keffer’s start/finish (PS4): 13th/14th           

JRM Team Point Standings: 6th (-20)

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (June 27, 2019) – The first road course race of the eNASCAR Heat Pro League season at the virtual Watkins Glen International was a mixed bag for the two-car JR Motorsports team on Wednesday night, as Tyler Dohar rebounded from a late crash to finish third in the No. 88 FilterTime entry and Jason Keffer finished 14th with the No. 7 Win Dale Jr.’s Ride Chevrolet after an altercation in the Bus Stop with just eight laps remaining.

In the opening 25-lap run for the PlayStation 4 group, Keffer started 13th in the 14-car field and had risen to 11th after five laps. He was ninth with 17 laps to go when green-flag pit stops began and quickly rose to third place a lap later when the majority of the cars in front of him took service. Pitting a lap later for his own tires and fuel, Keffer dropped back to 12th as the race resumed.

At the competition caution with 11 to go, the entire field pitted again and on the restart, Keffer ran afoul of another competitor in the Bus Stop. The competitor blew the corner entry and in trying to recover, took Keffer off the track and into the grass. With just eight laps remaining, Keffer had no time to make up any positions and was scored 14th at the finish.

In the nightcap for XBOX races, Dohar had an equally frustrating evening in terms of driver patience, but managed to recover for another top-three finish. With just two laps in, the driver of the No. 88 FilterTime Chevrolet was caught in a chain reaction in the Bus Stop as the No. 6 car turned him into the outside wall. That necessitated a pit stop four laps later. Working his way back up through the pack from 11th with 19 laps remaining, the Ohio native advanced three spots in the next three laps to run eighth, and he was sixth with 15 laps left. The leaders began to pit ahead of the competition caution (set for 10 to go), and Dohar was in second when the yellow waved.

Restarting third, Dohar was on the outside exiting Turn 1 when the eventual race winner body-slammed Dohar’s machine toward the fence. Fighting his car all the way up the hill, Dohar managed to emerge unscathed in the resulting melee, but several other cars were not so lucky, and the caution waved yet again. Dohar had lost three spots in the exchange, and on the restart he fired off sixth.

He gained a spot to fifth with five laps remaining, then took fourth from the No. 13 two laps later. On that same lap, he passed the third-place car to set up a charge for the checkered. The No. 37 car pulled a body-slam of his own in Turn 1 to take the lead from the No. 6, allowing Dohar to inch a little closer, and it stayed that way until the final corner of the final lap, when the No. 6 sent one to the outside and out-dragged the No. 37 to the checkered flag.

At the end of the night, the two-car JRM contingent had slipped a spot to sixth in the combined team standings, trailing the leader by 20 points with four races left until the Playoff field is decided.

Next up for the JRM team is a race at Chicagoland Speedway on July 10.

Jason Keffer, PS4 driver No. 7 Win Dale Jr.’s Ride Chevrolet team

Tyler Dohar, XBOX driver No. 88 FilterTime Chevrolet team



XFINITY Series Schedule

  • November 16 03:30 PM ET
    Ford EcoBoost 300Homestead-Miami Speedway

XFINITY Series Standings

After Desert Diamond West Valley Casino 200

ISM Raceway | 11/9/2019
1Justin Allgaier (P)40000
2Christopher Bell (P)40000
3Tyler Reddick (P)40000
4Cole Custer (P)40000
5Austin Cindric (P)2252-1748
6Chase Briscoe # (P)2252-1748
7John Hunter Nemechek #2212-1788
8Michael Annett (P)2210-1790
9Noah Gragson # (P)2208-1792