Learn more about JR Motorsports

Now in its 22nd year, JR Motorsports is the professional race team co-owned by NASCAR Hall of Fame member and 15-time Most Popular Driver Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kelley Earnhardt Miller and NASCAR Hall of Famer Rick Hendrick. The company is based in Mooresville, North Carolina, and operates out of a 66,000-square-foot facility that serves as the nucleus of Earnhardt Jr.’s racing, marketing and business interests.

JR Motorsports tours nationally in the NASCAR Xfinity Series with four full-time entries and is also active regionally with its late model program, upon which the company was founded.

JR Motorsports has three championships (2014, 2017 and 2018) to its credit. In 2017, the organization made NXS history by becoming the first team to claim the top-three spots in the championship standings after locking four teams in the Playoff Round of 12, which also stood as a series record. The trend marked the fourth consecutive season (2014-17) that JRM placed at least two cars in the top four of the final standings. The company also maintains a distinction as the only NXS team to produce rookie champions, accomplishing the feat with Chase Elliott (2014), William Byron (2017) and Tyler Reddick (2018.)

Laying the foundation for this success was the team’s monumental 2014 season, in which it won the championship and earned a single-season-record nine victories among four drivers. All told, JRM boasts more than 56 NXS victories and over 100 late-model victories, including late-model championships in 2012, 2014, and 2016-17, along with a national title in 2020. 

The company’s journey began in 2002 with a foray into street stock cars that competed locally at Concord (N.C.) Speedway. After numerous wins in the local ranks, Earnhardt launched his Xfinity Series program in 2006. In 2008 he merged with Hendrick Motorsports to field a joint effort that would include engineering, chassis and engine support. The collaboration paid off as JR Motorsports enjoyed a breakout season with four victories between its two teams.  The company would score eight victories during the 2008 and 2009 campaigns.  The team’s triumphs carried through the ensuing seasons, culminating in its championship efforts in 2014, 2017 and 2018. In addition to its NXS teams, JRM also expanded into the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series with a single entry in 2015-16, scoring two wins, including a victory in only its second series start. 

Visit Us

JR Motorsports
349 Cayuga Dr.
Mooresville, NC 28117

View map


Store Hours
Monday 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Tuesday 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Wednesday 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Thursday 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Friday 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Sunday Closed