Justin Allgaier Takes NXS Most Popular Driver Honors, Fans Make it a Dominant Decade for JRM

Ron Lemasters | 12/3/2021

Brandt Justin Allgaier Most Popular Driver News Unilever

This marks the 10th consecutive season that the annual award has landed with a JR Motorsports driver.

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (Dec. 3, 2021) -- Justin Allgaier won the NASCAR Xfinity Series Most Popular Driver Award for 2021, the 10th consecutive season that the annual award, voted on by fans, has landed with a JR Motorsports driver.

A JRM driver has earned 12 of the last 14 Most Popular Driver honors in the NXS, and Allgaier won for the third consecutive season, tying Elliott Sadler as the only drivers to win three straight Most Popular Driver Awards with the same team. Sadler earned the honor from the fans in 2016-18 while at JRM, and leads overall in the series with four total trophies. 

Allgaier also moves past Brad Keselowski (2008-09) and Chase Elliott (2014-15) with his third trophy. Danica Patrick (2012) and Regan Smith (2013) are the other drivers to win the award for JRM.

"There are a lot of accolades in this sport that are super important," Allgaier said of winning his third straight MPD trophy. "This one, for me, growing up in the sport and watching my heroes and seeing this honor as one that was always fun to watch, to see who won it and be a part of it...to have my name as someone who has an opportunity to win it and then do it three years in a row is truly special."

Allgaier did not actually find out in real-time that he had won again.

"To be honest, I wasn't even around my phone last night," Allgaier said. "We were out ice-skating with my daughter and I got back to a phone that was literally blowing up, people had been texting and calling me. It was pretty wild. I'm just humbled and blessed, and JR Nation definitely shows out, that's for sure, every year on Most Popular Driver. It makes a big difference." 

The 35-year-old from Illinois completed his sixth season with JRM by finishing fifth in the NXS point standings. The Illinois native won twice in 2021, at Atlanta Motor Speedway and at Darlington Raceway on the way to earning 16 top-five and 24 top-10 finishes and leading 468 laps. The victories were the first for Allgaier at each of those tracks and represented his 12th and 13th victories for JRM. The Illinois native has won 16 times in NXS competition overall. 



XFINITY Series Schedule

  • February 19 05:00 PM ET
    Beef. It's What's For Dinner. 300Daytona International Speedway
  • February 26 05:00 PM ET
    Production Alliance 300Auto Club Speedway
  • March 5 04:30 PM ET
    Alsco Uniforms 300Las Vegas Motor Speedway
  • March 12 04:30 PM ET
    NXS Race at PhoenixPhoenix Raceway
  • March 19 05:00 PM ET
    Nalley Cars 250Atlanta Motor Speedway

XFINITY Series Standings

After NXS Championship

Phoenix Raceway | 11/6/2021
1Daniel Hemric (P)40400
2Austin Cindric (P)4035-5
3Noah Gragson (P)4025-15
4AJ Allmendinger (P)4023-17
5Justin Allgaier2300-1740
6Justin Haley2244-1796
7Brandon Jones2239-1801
15Michael Annett638-3402
25Sam Mayer #338-3702