Memorable JRM Moments from 2019: Four Moments Deserve Honorable Mention

Ron Lemasters | 12/23/2019

Brad Davies Dale Earnhardt Jr. Daniel Hemric Dave Elenz eNASCAR iRacing Jason Keffer Jeb Burton Late Model Michael Conti NASCAR Heat News Noah Gragson Sam Mayer Taylor Moyer Tyler Dohar XFINITY Series

They didn't all make the final countdown but we certainly had our fair share of memorable moments from the 2019 racing season.

MOORESVILLE, N.C. (Dec. 23, 2019) – Every season has its share of Memorable Moments, and there have been quite a few for JR Motorsports over its history. Here are a few of them from 2019 that barely missed the top rankings.

Mayer Makes Winning Return to Late Models: Sam Mayer had not raced JRM’s Late Model for nearly a year when he returned to the seat in September at Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway. The layoff didn’t seem to matter much, as the young Wisconsin driver earned JRM’s third triumph in four seasons at the prestigious Bobby Isaac Memorial on the venerable short track. Mayer, part of the Driver’s Edge Development program with JRM, Chevrolet and GMS Racing, qualified seventh and rode the high groove to the lead following an early caution, battling with teammate Adam Lemke. Those two fought for the top spot until Lemke’s car suffered a mechanical issue, which allowed Mayer to cruise to victory. Later in the season, the 17-year-old clinched the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East championship and made his debut in the NASCAR Gander RV and Outdoors Truck Series.

JRM eNASCAR Teams Debut with Much Fanfare: As NASCAR launched an ambitious campaign in eNASCAR, JR Motorsports was at the forefront. Drivers Michael Conti and Brad Davies represented the team in the eNASCAR Peak Antifreeze iRacing Series, while Tyler Dohar and Jason Keffer carried team colors in the inaugural eNASCAR Heat Pro League. Dohar and Keffer raced for a championship in the NASCAR Heat Pro Series, finishing fourth in the championship race in October, while Conti reached the final eight in the Peak Antifreeze iRacing Series points and Davies narrowly missed the playoff field.

Gragson Has Stellar Rookie Season: Following in the footsteps of 2018 NASCAR Xfinity Series champion Tyler Reddick in JRM’s No. 9 Chevrolet, Las Vegas native Noah Gragson put together a solid statistical season that outshone the numbers Reddick put up on his way to the championship, JRM’s third in five seasons. Under the tutelage of two-time champion crew chief Dave Elenz, the 21-year-old Gragson earned nine top-five and 22 top-10 finishes in 33 starts, closing his rookie season with a fine fourth-place finish at Homestead-Miami Speedway, Reddick, for comparison, had seven top-five and 20 top-10 finishes in addition to his bookend victories at Daytona and Homestead.

Many Drivers, Many Top Finishes for No. 8 Team: Nine drivers competed in JRM’s No. 8 Chevrolet in 2019, so rookie crew chief Taylor Moyer—and the interior mechanics in the shop—faced a new set of parameters nearly every week. Through the 33-race season, however, that approach worked very well as the team notched seven top-five and 23 top-10 finishes in 33 races. That performance resulted in the No. 8 being the highest-finishing multi-driver car in the points. Both Jeb Burton and Zane Smith earned a pair of top-fives each, while Ryan Truex, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Ryan Preece scored one each. In terms of top-10 finishes, Zane Smith led the way with seven in 10 starts and Burton had six in seven starts. Preece added four in his four races, and Truex had four in six starts. Chase Elliott and Earnhardt Jr. earned the remaining two. In 2020, Moyer and his team will have just three drivers— newcomer Daniel Hemric, Burton and Earnhardt Jr.



XFINITY Series Schedule

  • May 23 01:00 PM ET
    Alsco 300 at CharlotteCharlotte Motor Speedway
  • May 30 01:00 PM ET
    Mid-Ohio 170Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
  • June 6 01:30 PM ET
    LTi Printing 250Michigan International Speedway
  • June 13 08:30 PM ET
    Iowa 250Iowa Speedway
  • June 20 04:00 PM ET
    Chicagoland 300Chicagoland Speedway

XFINITY Series Standings

After LS Tractor 200

Phoenix Raceway | 3/7/2020
1Harrison Burton #1760
2Chase Briscoe173-3
3Austin Cindric155-21
4Brandon Jones148-28
5Ross Chastain146-30
6Noah Gragson143-33
7Ryan Sieg143-33
8Justin Haley140-36
9Justin Allgaier138-38
10Michael Annett119-57